
What Are Your Rights as a Worker?
Washington State law protects the rights of working people. If your employer denies 
you your rights, the Washington Department of Labor & Industries (L&I) can help you.

You have the right to:
Regular wages. You must be paid at least minimum 
wage (14- and 15-year-olds may be paid 85 percent 
of the adult minimum wage). You must be paid on 
set paydays and receive a statement of your wages. 
Payday must be at least once a month.

Rest breaks and a meal period. You have the right to 
a paid 10-minute rest break for each four hours you 
work. You must be allowed a meal break of at least 
30 minutes about midway through your shift. Your 
employer does not have to pay you for the meal break 
unless you are required to remain on duty.

A safe and healthy workplace. Your employer must 
follow Washington state rules protecting workers on 
the job. If you think an unsafe condition exists, tell 
your employer. If you tell L&I about safety concerns, 
you can ask that your name not be revealed to your 
employer.

Help if you are hurt on the job. If you are hurt on the 
job, go to a doctor and file a workers’ compensation 
claim. The doctor should help you fill out the form. 
L&I will pay medical bills for your injury and often 
replace some of your wages if you need time off work 
to recover.

Inform L&I if you plan to move out of Washington  
State so your benefits won’t be interrupted.

Protection from discrimination. It is against the 
law for your employer to discriminate against you 
for reporting unsafe conditions or filing a workers’ 
compensation claim. Call L&I if this happens.

Where can you learn more about your rights?
Your employer must post the following three posters 
that explain your rights in more detail. All are 
available in Spanish.

�� Your Rights as a Worker

�� Job Safety and Health Law

�� Notice to Employees – If a Job Injury Occurs

In addition, L&I publishes pamphlets you may want 
to receive or read on the Web. Topics covered include 
young workers in agriculture, minimum wage, and 
workers’ compensation benefits. Call an L&I office to 
request a publication or visit www.Lni.wa.gov to read 
publications online.
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Do you have questions? Call the L&I office nearest you. Please ask for an interpreter if you want one.

Aberdeen	 360-533-8200
Bellevue	 425-990-1400
Bellingham	 360-647-7300
Bremerton	 360-415-4000
East Wenatchee	 509-886-6500 or 800-292-5920
Everett	 425-290-1300
Kelso	 360-575-6900
Kennewick	 509-735-0100 or 800-547-9411
Moses Lake	 509-764-6900 or 800-574-2285 (E. WA only)
Mount Vernon	 360-416-3000

Port Angeles	 360-417-2700
Pullman	 509-334-5296 or 800-509-0025
Seattle	 206-515-2800
Spokane	 509-324-2600 or 800-509-8847
Tacoma	 253-596-3800
Tukwila	 206-835-1000
Tumwater	 360-902-5799
Vancouver	 360-896-2300
Yakima	 509-454-3700 or 800-354-5423

Upon request, foreign language support and formats for persons 
with disabilities are available. Call 1-800-547-8367. TDD users, 
call 360-902-5797. L&I is an equal opportunity employer.



¿Cuáles son sus derechos como trabajador?
La ley del estado de Washington protege los derechos de la gente que trabaja. Si su empleador le 
niega sus derechos, el Departamento de Labor e Industrias (L&I) de Washington puede ayudarle.

Usted tiene derecho a:
Un salario regular. Le tienen que pagar a usted por lo menos 
el salario mínimo (a los adolescentes de 14 y 15 años de 
edad se les puede pagar el 85 por ciento del salario mínimo 
de un adulto). Le deben de pagar en días fijados y darle un 
comprobante de pago. El día de pago debe ser por lo menos 
una vez al mes.

Períodos de comida y descanso. Usted tiene derecho a un 
descanso de 10 minutos pagados por cada cuatro horas 
que usted trabaja. Se le debe permitir una pausa para la 
comida, por lo menos de 30 minutos más o menos a la 
mitad de su turno. Su empleador no tiene que pagarle la 
pausa para la comida a menos que le requieran que trabaje 
durante ese tiempo.

Lugar de trabajo seguro y saludable. Su empleador 
debe obedecer las reglas del estado de Washington que 
protegen a los trabajadores en su lugar de trabajo. Si usted 
piensa que existe una condición insegura, dígaselo a su 
empleador. Si usted le hace saber a L&I sus preocupaciones 
de seguridad, usted puede pedir que su nombre no sea 
revelado a su empleador.

Ayuda si usted se lastima en el trabajo. Si usted se lastima 
en el trabajo, vaya a un doctor y registre un reclamo de 
compensación para los trabajadores. El doctor debe ayudarle 
a llenar el formulario. L&I pagará las cuentas médicas por su 
lesión y frecuentemente una porción de sus salarios, si es que 
usted necesita tiempo para recuperarse.

Infórmele a L&I si piensa mudarse fuera del estado de 
Washington para que sus beneficios no sean interrumpidos.

Protección contra la discriminación. Es contra la ley que su 
empleador lo discrimine por divulgar condiciones inseguras 
o por registrar un reclamo de compensación para los 
trabajadores. Llame a L&I si esto sucede.

¿Dónde puede usted aprender más sobre  
sus derechos?
Su empleador debe fijar los tres carteles siguientes, que 
explican sus derechos más detalladamente. Todos están 
disponibles en español.

�� Sus derechos como trabajador

�� Ley de seguridad y salud

�� Aviso para los empleados si ocurre una lesión en el trabajo.

Además, L&I publica folletos que usted puede recibir o leer  
en Internet. Los temas incluyen: adolescentes en la agricultura, 
salario mínimo y los beneficios de compensación para los 
trabajadores. Llame a una oficina de L&I para solicitar una 
publicación o visite el sitio www.Lni.wa.gov/Spanish para 
leer las publicaciones en forma electrónica.
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Si usted tiene preguntas: Llame a la oficina más cercana y solicite un intérprete si lo necesita.

Aberdeen	 360-533-8200
Bellevue	 425-990-1400
Bellingham	 360-647-7300
Bremerton	 360-415-4000
East Wenatchee	 509-886-6500 ó 800-292-5920
Everett	 425-290-1300
Kelso	 360-575-6900 
Kennewick	 509-735-0100 ó 800-547-9411
Moses Lake	 509-764-6900 ó 800-574-2285 (Este de WA solamente)
Mount Vernon	 360-416-3000

Port Angeles	 360-417-2700
Pullman	 509-334-5296 ó 800-509-0025
Seattle	 206-515-2800
Spokane	 509-324-2600 ó 800-509-8847
Tacoma	 253-596-3800
Tukwila	 206-835-1000
Tumwater	 360-902-5799
Vancouver	 360-896-2300
Yakima	 509-454-3700 ó 800-354-5423

A petición del cliente, hay ayuda disponible para personas que hablan 
otros idiomas y otros formatos alternos de comunicación para personas 
con discapacidades. Llame al 1-800-547-8367. Usuarios de dispositivos 
de telecomunicaciones para sordos (TDD, por su sigla en inglés) llamen 
al 360-902-5797. L&I es un empleador con igualdad de oportunidades. 
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